Young Goodman Brown - Nathaniel Hawthorne

Young Goodman Brown

By Nathaniel Hawthorne

  • Release Date: 2011-10-10
  • Genre: Classics
Score: 4
From 16 Ratings


As one of America’s most famous writers and novelists, Nathaniel Hawthorne needs no formal introduction. He worked at a Custom House and joined Brook Farm, a transcendentalist community, before marrying Peabody in 1842. The couple moved to The Old Manse in Concord, Massachusetts, later moving to Salem, the Berkshires, then to The Wayside in Concord. The Scarlet Letter was published in 1850, followed by a succession of other novels. A political appointment took Hawthorne and family to Europe before their return to The Wayside in 1860. Hawthorne died on May 19, 1864, leaving behind his wife and their three children.
Much of Hawthorne's writing centers on New England, many works featuring moral allegories with a Puritan inspiration. His fiction works are considered part of the Romantic movement and, more specifically, dark romanticism. His themes often center on the inherent evil and sin of humanity, and his works often have moral messages and deep psychological complexity. Several of them are considered examples of the finest American literature.
Young Goodman Brown is one of Hawthorne's best known shot stories, a historical tale that mixes social issues with the Puritan and Goth themes that he used so effectively in The Scarlet Letter and The House of the Seven Gables.
This edition of Hawthorne’s Young Goodman Brown is specially formatted with a Table of Contents and is illustrated with pictures of Hawthorne, his residences, and the House of 7 Gables.